If only Joss Whedon had a crush on Starbuck instead of Helo…

10Aug09

Don’t get me wrong — Tahmoh Penikett seems like a nice guy, and I liked him on Battlestar Galactica. But he doesn’t seem to have much range, and I’ve been disappointed with his performance as Ballard.

If I had recruited a BsG alum for Dollhouse, I most definitely would have picked Katee Sackhoff, who captivated me with the vulnerability and humor she brought to brash, cocky Starbuck. Not to mention she is pretty bad-ass and kinda, well, smokin’ hot.

She could easily play a determined FBI-type, and I think she would bring a softer side to Ballard that I’ve yet to really feel from Tahmoh. Also, making a woman the “white knight” figure would feel like a fresher approach to the Ballard-Echo dynamic, in my opinion.

But if Ballard had been a “Pauline” instead of a Paul, I guess November wouldn’t have been sent to seduce her.

…Actually, no, that scenario still works for me.

One Response to “If only Joss Whedon had a crush on Starbuck instead of Helo…”


  1. 1 Recasting ‘Dollhouse’ | this to say about that

Leave a Reply

